Net Worth Plaza

"Discover the wealth of your favorite celebrities with our insider knowledge and up-to-date net worth figures."

Current Affairs

Virat Kohli Earns the “Player of the Tournament” Title in the Cricket World Cup 2023

Player of the Tournament 2023

The ICC World Cup 2023 witnessed a spectacular display of cricketing prowess, with Indian batting maestro Virat Kohli earning the “Player of the Tournament” title for his exceptional performance. However, despite Kohli-record breaking feats, Australia emerged victorious in the high-stakes final at the Narendra Modi Stadium, marking their sixth ODI World Cup win.

Virat’s Kohli’s Record Breaking Performance

Kohli’s stellar performance in the tournament set new records, with the total score of 765 runs in 11 innings, the highest-ever runs scored by a batter in a single edition of the World Cup. He averaged at 95.62, and ended up with a strike rate of 90.3. The former Indian skipper also notched 6 fifties to his name, including the 63-ball half-century in the tournament’s final.

Kohli Beraks Sachin Tendulkar’s Record

The 35-year-old cricket icon added another feather to his cap by surpassing the legendary Sachin Tendulkar’s record, achieving his 50th One-Day International (ODI) century. Tendulkar’s longstanding record of 49 ODI centuries was eclipsed by Kohli, making this World Cup edition particularly special for the prolific batsman.

Check This: List of Player of the Tournament Winner in ODI World Cup (1992 to 2023)

Virat Kohli’s 2023 World Cup Performance

Total – 765 runs
Average – 95.63
6 fifties, including in final
3 centuries, including in semis vs New Zealand

The Unfortunate Final

Despite winning the “Player of the Tournament” award, Kohli appeared dejected as India fell short of winning the World Cup title. In the final of the ICC World Cup 2023 concluded at the Narendra Modi Stadium on 19th November, Australia ended India’s unbeaten streak in the tournament and scored a 6-wicket victory to lift the title. This marks the sixth time when Australia has won the ODI World Cup in cricket’s history.

Find More Sports News Here




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *