Net Worth Plaza

"Discover the wealth of your favorite celebrities with our insider knowledge and up-to-date net worth figures."

Current Affairs

List of National Symbols and its Significance

Table of Contents

National Symbols of India

The national symbols of India are a reflection of the country’s culture and distinct identity. They embody the essence of the nation’s people, values, and traits. India is a diverse nation with multiple languages spoken in each state, and similarly, it has a variety of national symbols that symbolize its rich cultural heritage. These national symbols serve as a testament to the profound and vibrant culture that permeates our country.

What are the national symbols of India?

The national symbols of India are categorized as the national flag, national emblem, national song, national bird, national animal, National tree, national fruit, the national flower, National anthem, national game, National calendar, national vegetable, National aquatic animal, national heritage animal, national river, and national currency.

Buy Prime Test Series for all Banking, SSC, Insurance & other exams

List of National Symbols of India

Title National Symbol Significance
1.      National Flag


Tiranga The national flag of India is made of three colors. It has three stripes of equal length with saffron at the top, white in the middle, and green at the bottom. The center which is the white strip is embellished with Ashok chakra which is navy blue. Ashok chakra has 24 spokes which depict the 24 hours. The national flag of India was designed by Pingali Venkayya. The three colors of the national flag are of huge significance. The saffron stripe indicates sacrifice and courage, the white stripe in the middle represents purity, peace, and honesty, and the green stripe represents faith and chivalry.
2.      National Emblem National Emblem of India The national emblem of India is the lion capital of Ashoka at Sarnath. It was adopted as the national emblem of India on 26th January 1950. The motto inscribed below the national emblem is an integral part of India with says Satyamev Jayate in Devnagri script which means truth alone triumphs in English.
3.      National Currency Indian Rupees The national emblem of India is the lion capital of Ashoka at Sarnath. It was adopted as the national emblem of India on 26th January 1950. The motto inscribed below the national emblem is an integral part of India with says Satyamev Jayate in Devnagri script which means truth alone triumphs in English.
4.      National Calendar Saka Calendar The national calendar of India is also called Shalivahana Shaka Calendar. Is used with the Gregorian calendar by the Gazette of India. All India Radio and calendars issued by the government of India also follow the national calendar of India.
5.      Oath of Allegiance National Pledge The oath of an alliance of India is the national pledge. It is recited by Indians at public events or in schools and during Independence Day and Republic Day celebrations. The main national place is also printed on the opening pages of several textbooks in school and calendars.
6.      National River Ganga The national river of India is the Ganga. Ganga is a secret river and it is worshipped as the goddess Ganga in India under Hinduism. It has a massive significance in the history of India.
7.      National Heritage Animal Indian Elephant The national heritage animal of India is the elephant. The elephants of India are subspecies of Asian elephants that are found in mainland Asia. The Indian elephant is also listed as an endangered animal by the International Union for the conservation of nature.
8.      National Animal Royal Bengal Tiger Tigers are scientifically known as Panthera Tigris species. The subspecies of tigers are called royal Bengal tigers. In April 1973 the Royal Bengal tiger was declared the national animal of India. Nagpur is known as the tiger capital of India. The decrease in forest and poaching has decreased the population of royal Bengal tigers and made them an endangered species. Tigers are added to the red list by the International Union for the conservation of nature. The Government of India has also launched Project Tigers in 1973 to protect the tigers from poaching and hunting.
9.      National Bird Indian Peacock The national bird of India is the Indian peacock. It is an indigenous bird found in the subcontinents. The beautiful bird represents the unity of various colors and cultures found in India. The Government of India declared the peacock the National bird of India on the first of February 1963.
10.   National Tree Indian Banyan The national tree of India is Indian Banyan which is known as Ficus bengalensis scientifically. The Banyan tree has roots hanging from the branches and these trees grow over large areas. The roots of these trees from new trees themselves and dis characteristics make them a symbol of longevity, and this tree is considered immortal.
11.   National Song Vande Mataram The national song of India is Vande Mataram which is a poem written by Bankim Chandra Chatterjee. Letter in 1882 he added this poem to his Bengali novel Anandamath. Rabindranath first sang this poem in 1896 at the session of the Indian National Congress. On 24th January 1950, this song was adopted as the national song of India by the constituent assembly of India.
12.   National Anthem Jana Gana Mana The National anthem of India is Jana Gana Mana. The song was originally composed by Bharata Bhagyo Bidhata in Bengali by Rabindranath Tagore. On 24th January 1950, the Bharoto Bhagyo Bidhata was adopted as the National anthem of India by the constituent assembly of India.
13.   National Aquatic Animal Ganges River Dolphin The national aquatic animal of India is the Ganges River dolphin. It is an endangered freshwater dolphin that is found in the region of the Indian subcontinent. This species of dolphin is divided into two subspecies the Ganges River dolphin and the Indus River dolphin. The Ganges River dolphin is found in the Ganges and Brahmaputra rivers and their tributaries, while this river dolphin is only found in the Indus River in Pakistan and the river Beas in Punjab.
14.   National Vegetable Pumpkin The national vegetable of India is the pumpkin. Pumpkin is a winter squash that is round with smooth and ribbed skin which is yellow. It grows throughout India and doesn’t have many soil requirements to grow. Pumpkin can be grown easily as a climber or creeper.
15.   National Fruit Mango The national fruit of India is mango which is scientifically known as Mangifera Indica. Mango is generally found in the summer seasons in India. More than 100 varieties of mangoes are found in India and India is the place from where mango originated. Mango is also referred to as the king of fruits.
16.   National Flower Lotus The national flower of India is Lotus which is scientifically known as Nelumbo Nucifera Gaertn. Lotus is a secret flower and it occupies a unique position in the field of art and mythology of India. it is recognized as an auspicious symbol of Indian culture and heritage

States and Capitals: Complete List of 28 States and Capitals of India and 8 UTs 2023

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *